DWI & DUI Attorney in Conroe, Texas
At the Hernandez Law Firm, our DWI & DUI lawyer in Conroe understands how life-changing a DUI charge is for our Montgomery County residents. This is especially true when they do not know the consequences associated with driving under the influence in Texas and are overwhelmed by the stress and anxiety about what comes next.
The first concern is typical whether they will lose their licenses, as the ability to drive is directly tied to their livelihoods, and that without a license, getting to work, school, or even the grocery store becomes a real challenge.
That is why is it so important to partner with an experienced Conroe DUI lawyer to ensure your rights are protected throughout the legal process, and so you are immediately aware of what your DUI charges mean to your future.
You only have 15 days from the date of your DUI arrest to request an administrative hearing to retain your driving privileges. If you miss this deadline, your license will automatically be suspended.
Our law firm founder, and lead attorney, Jordan Hernandez, will accompany you to the hearing to provide the best outcome for your unique DUI circumstances and fully assess your case to provide the strategic legal representation you need to pursue the best outcome for your DUI charge(s).
Will I Lose My License for Driving Under the Influence in Texas?
In the state of Texas, our laws allow individuals who have been charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence to request an Administrative License Revocation hearing, or ALR hearing, to determine whether they can keep their license after a DUI charge.
This hearing is not part of the criminal proceedings that our clients will attend later, as it is presided over by an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ), which can result in a very one-sided assessment of their case.
Since the ALJ does not know the circumstances of each defendant’s arrest, he or she will only consider approving their driving privileges from an administrative approach, which makes the examination extremely technical and difficult to navigate without an experienced Conroe DUI attorney.
Our experienced Conroe DWI lawyer is well versed in the ALR hearing procedures and will help you fight to preserve your driving privileges, so you can maintain your independence while we pursue the best outcome for your DWI & DUI case.
What are the Criminal Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated in Texas?
Like all criminal charges, the penalties for a DWI/DUI in Texas will reflect the circumstances of the arrest, and whether the individual has a criminal record with a previous DUI conviction.
As a first offense, a DWI is Class B Misdemeanor, with penalties that could include:
- Fines up to $2,000
- Jail sentencing of three to 180 days
- License suspension for up to two years
- Up to three years of annual surcharges to maintain your license
- Intervention and/or educational DWI programs
- Ignition interlock devices
Repeat offenders can expect to ensure the previously mentioned consequences in addition to:
2nd DWI Convictions
- Class A Misdemeanor charge
- 30-day minimum jail sentences with one year maximum possible
- Fines of up to $4,000
3rd DWI Convictions and Beyond
- Third Degree Felony charge
- 2-year minimum prison sentence with a 10-year maximum possible
- Fines of up to $10,000
In addition to these sentences, you may also face administrative penalties that add additional fines and license suspension because of refusing to take a chemical test or failing it.
Under certain circumstances, you could face enhanced criminal charges in your Conroe, Texas, DWI case.
Examples of DUI circumstances that can lead to enhanced charges in your case include:
- Prior convictions on your record
- You caused a severe injury because of your drunkenness
- You caused the death of another when driving intoxicated
- Having a BAC of 0.15 or higher
If charged with DWI under any of these scenarios, you may face felony charges with prison time.
Our experienced criminal defense attorney in Conroe represents clients who have been charged with:
Hiring a DWI defense attorney in Conroe will increase your chances of producing a successful defense to fight these charges, so you can get your life back on track with minimal penalties.
How Will Our DUI Attorney in Conroe, Texas Defend Your Criminal Charges?
If you or a loved one are facing charges for driving while drunk or under the influence and have been charged with a DWI or DUI in Texas, that does not mean you are guilty and will be convicted of the crime.
Our skilled DUI attorney in Conroe will review the circumstances of your arrest, including the reason you were pulled over and the legal protocol used during questioning, testing, arresting, and booking to ensure your rights were not violated during the process.
Any policing errors, rights violations, and/or breathalyzer equipment malfunctions can be used as part of our defense strategy to pursue reduced or dismissed charges by the prosecution.
Each DUI/DWI charge is unique, as are the circumstances and the person who is being charged.
At the Hernandez Law Firm, our Criminal Defense Lawyer in Conroe will review your charges and provide the best legal representation available for your case, so you can pursue a positive outcome.
Contact Our Experienced DUI/DWI Defense Attorney in Conroe, Texas Today
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI/DWI in Texas, contact our skilled driving under the influence attorney in Conroe, Texas at the Hernandez Law Firm today by calling 936-256-3115 to discuss your case and learn how we can build the best defense available for your unique charges.